Into the Arms of Angels, Part 8 of 14

Desk

I hope you enjoy the eighth installment of my feature-length screenplay,”Into the Arms of Angels” (© 2005, 2016).

For Part 7, please click here.

For Part 1 and a glossary of screenwriting abbreviations, please click here.

Each installment concludes with a link to its successor.

 

INT. JOE’S HOTEL ROOM – SUNDAY NIGHT – 2006

DIALOGUE IS A CALL FROM GABRIEL TO JOE ON THE NIGHT OF 10 SEPTEMBER 2001.

A PHONE RINGS.

Joe inserts the key card into his door and, after two or three tries, unlocks it.

The PHONE RINGS again.

Joe flips on the light switch just inside his door.

JOE (O.S.)

Hello?

 

Joe heaves his roller-bag onto a bed.

GABRIEL (O.S.)

Hey Joe, this is safe-in. Holy cow, that was a long haul. I mean – I left home, what, 9, 10 hours ago! I’m so relieved to be in this hotel you just would not believe.

 

Joe turns on a lamp next to the bed.

JOE (O.S.)

Glad you made it in, Gabe. What was the hold-up?

 

Joe calls the main desk to request a wake-up call.

GABRIEL (O.S.)

The weather. Serious frickin’ rainstorms in New York, so they made us sit in O’Hare…Damn, I just remembered that disk you forgot to give me before I left. Did you email the stuff?

 

Joe pulls open a zipper on his suitcase and begins to unpack.

JOE (O.S.)

Yeah, I did.

 

In his robe, Joe brushes his teeth.

GABRIEL (O.S.)

Now I have to dial in and wait another hour while all of that data loads onto my laptop; that is if the connection doesn’t break halfway through. I am so tired. I wish I could just go to sleep.

 

INT. A NEW YORK HOTEL ROOM – 10 SEPTEMBER 2001 – CONTINUOUS ACTION

Gabriel stands in a hotel room and holds a cell phone to his ear. He pulls cords from a computer bag with his free hand.

 

JOE (O.S.)

Gabe, I’m really sorry. I feel like a complete idiot.

 

Gabriel stops unpacking and sits on a corner of the bed.

GABRIEL

It’s OK, Joe. Truly. Anyone could’ve forgotten…No, I mean it. For God’s sake, you pulled all that data together, before it was even ready. That was huge. And anyway, I forgot the disk, too.

 

Gabriel laughs happily at Joe’s response and resumes unpacking.

GABRIEL (CONT’D)

You got that right, Joe. Whatever would I do without your –

 

Gabriel laughs again in response to Joe.

GABRIEL (CONT’D)

Uh-huh, I’d have floated off of terra firma long, long ago. You’ve saved my ass more times that I can count. I’ll always remember that. OK?

 

Gabriel grins.

GABRIEL (CONT’D)

Good luck at the office tomorrow. I’ll call you as soon as I have news.

 

INT. JOE’S HOTEL ROOM – SUNDAY – 2006 – CONTINUOUS ACTION

Joe staggers out of the bathroom, checks the lock on the door to the hallway, and turns off the main light switch.

GABRIEL (O.S.)

I might know something early, because I’m meeting a team for breakfast, at this totally amazing…no, I mean it, Joe. It’s called Windows on the World, and it’s way the heck up there, at the top of one of the World Trade towers. Anyway, I’ve been wanting to go there for ages, and I am stoked.

 

JOE (O.S.)

Take some pictures if you can.

 

GABRIEL (O.S.)

OK, Joe, will do. Well, I’m due there at 8:30, and I want to catch Lucy tonight, so I should probably sign off.

 

Lying in bed, Joe reaches to turn off a lamp.

GABRIEL (O.S.) (CONT’D)

I’ll talk to you tomorrow, pal. Sleep well.

 

The red LEDs in Joe’s clock radio spell out “1:00.”

 

Please click here to read Part 9.

 

4 thoughts on “Into the Arms of Angels, Part 8 of 14

Leave a Reply

